- Licensed entity
- IG Markets Limited
- Licence no.
- AFSL 220440
IG
London-listed pioneer of spread betting and CFDs, with one of the widest market ranges in retail trading.
We searched the IOSCO international alerts database on 12 Oct 2026.
Licences (5)
- Licensed entity
- IG Europe GmbH
- Licence no.
- Not stated
- Licensed entity
- IG Markets Limited
- Licence no.
- FRN 195355
Some sources list IG Index Limited (FRN 114059) as a separate UK entity.
- Licensed entity
- IG Bank S.A.
- Licence no.
- Not stated
- Licensed entity
- IG Asia Pte Ltd
- Licence no.
- UEN 200510021K
The broker also reports licences from JFSA, DFSA, FSCA, BMA, FMA. We haven't checked these yet, so they aren't in the score.
Which company you sign up with depends on where you live. Your protections (compensation scheme, leverage limits, negative balance protection) come from that company's regulator.
Score breakdown
Weighted total: 9.5 / 10, ranked #5 of 30. How we score
- Regulation strength: Based on the strongest regulator licensing the broker, plus extra tier-1 and tier-2 licences.
- Licence status: Whether any licence has been revoked or has expired.
- Track record: Years in business: 0.5 points per year, up to 10.
- Transparency: Publicly listed parent, licences disclosed, head office published, client money segregated.
- Regulator alerts: Deductions for regulator alerts against the broker's own companies or websites.
Regulator alerts (0)
Scam sites impersonating IG
These alerts are about fraudsters copying the broker's name. They don't count against its score. Always check the website address before you log in or deposit.
- IG Markets Ltd (Imposter) (igmarketsfx.com): FMA, 9 May 2025 · source
Overview
IG was founded in 1974 and is listed on the London Stock Exchange. It holds licences from tier-1 regulators including the FCA, ASIC, BaFin, MAS and FINMA (through IG Bank), and offers more than 17,000 markets. Platforms include IG's own web and mobile apps, MT4, ProRealTime for advanced charting and L2 Dealer for direct market access on shares.
Who it suits: Traders who want a long-established, publicly listed broker with strong regulation and a very wide market range. A common default choice in the UK and Europe.
Company information
Trading conditions
Pros & cons
Pros
- Listed company with 50+ years of history
- Licensed by multiple tier-1 regulators
- UK clients covered by the FSCS up to £85,000
- 17,000+ markets, including options, bonds and ETFs
- ProRealTime and L2 Dealer for advanced users
Cons
- Forex spreads wider than raw-spread ECN brokers
- Inactivity fee
- Few copy-trading or social features
Frequently asked questions
Is IG regulated?
Yes. IG companies hold licences from ASIC, BaFin, FCA, FINMA, MAS (5 licences in our database). Your protection depends on which IG company you open an account with, so check that company on the regulator's register before you deposit.
Is IG safe?
IG has a score of 9.5/10, and we found no regulator alerts against its own companies or websites in the IOSCO database. No broker is risk-free: leveraged CFDs can lose you money quickly.
Which IG company will I open an account with?
It depends on where you live. The companies in our database are: IG Markets Limited (FCA, United Kingdom); IG Markets Limited (ASIC, Australia); IG Asia Pte Ltd (MAS, Singapore); IG Europe GmbH (BaFin, Germany); IG Bank S.A. (FINMA, Switzerland). Clients outside the UK, EU and Australia are often onboarded to an offshore company with weaker protection.
Does IG accept US clients?
No. IG doesn't accept US residents.
What's the minimum deposit and maximum leverage at IG?
Minimum deposit: £0 (card funding minimums apply). Maximum leverage: 30:1 retail (FCA / EU); higher for professional clients.
Which platforms does IG offer?
IG web platform, IG app, MT4, ProRealTime, L2 Dealer.
CFDs are complex instruments and carry a high risk of losing money quickly because of leverage. Most retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs. Make sure you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money. Licence data checked 12 Oct 2026. Details can change; always confirm on the regulator's register.